The Breakdown

by The Hanyaks

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $10 USD




This record is dedicated to the memory of my grandfathers, Albert Botard & Irven Monte Peck.

Monte wishes to thank: My parents for their endless love, support, and grief, Marshall for putting up with my unconventional production techniques and beating the drums, Erin for being my girl and just putting up with me in general, Nick for being my partner in crime, all of the amazing guest musicians (you guys were so awesome to work with, thanks!), Jake and Parker for the exquisite photography, and to Jana for making it all look so smooth. You were all so awesome to work with. Special thanks to God for blessing me with the talent and capability to rock.

Please, one big round of applause to those who made this record possible. I’m truly in your debt!

Special guest musicians:

Drums on Dying On The Inside, Fly On The Wall, Had It So Good, One More Month, R, Waiting On Linze, & Tarambuka on Along Those Lines courtesy of Marshall Peck

Piano solo from Along Those Lines performed by Russell Boyd

Lead guitar & weird sounds on Dying On The Inside by Nick Garcia

Electronic groan from Fly On The Wall made by my tiny microwave oven

Hand claps on Had It So Good brought to you by Jason Kupka & Timothy Speyrer

Backing vocal on Had It So Good sung by Aileen Peck

Organic hiss added to One More Month by Brent Christian

Blistering guitar solo on R courtesy of Andy Macintyre

Drums concerning Try Not To Stare were laid down by Neal Shotwell Jr.

Bass line from Try Not To Stare written and performed by Sempian

Piano parts on Try Not To Stare performed by Karen Goh

Cello on This Is It performed beautifully by Chris Rains

Everything else in the way of vocals, guitar, bass, piano, & percussion by Monte Peck

Produced, engineered, & mixed by Monte Peck
Recorded in countless strange locations throughout the south-central Texas region

Mastered by Terra Nova Mastering in Austin, TX

Art direction: Jana Lelek
Cover photography: Parker Little
Insert photography: Jake Morrison

All music and lyrics written by Monte Peck
© 2009 Equalellow Songs



released February 3, 2009



all rights reserved


The Hanyaks Lincoln, Nebraska

The Hanyaks (hänyäks) is a four-piece rock band based in Lincoln, Nebraska. Consisting of Nolan Morten on drums, Ashley Sharp on bass, and Robert Klingsporn on guitar, front man and chief songwriter Monte Peck assembled this sonically schizophrenic group after moving to Lincoln from Austin, TX.

On December 9, 2016, the band released their third full-length album entitled, Social Candy.
... more

contact / help

Contact The Hanyaks

Streaming and
Download help